Diocesan Catholic Integrated Schools' Update

Following the February 2011 earthquake, St Paul's School (Dallington) was deemed to be in the red zone. Thus St Paul's School cannot return to its Gayhurst Road site.

Currently St Paul's School is housed on the Ministry of Education's Champion Street site until the end of 2013; with a right to extend this until the end of the 2014 school year.

The Minister of Education has agreed in principle to support the Bishop of Christchurch's request for a consultation process on the following proposal:

Proposal

St Paul's School and Our Lady of Fatima School combine to form a new school on the existing Our Lady of Fatima School site (Mairehau), for the 2015 school year.

The Ministry will commence a formal community consultation on this proposal during Term 4, 2012. The exact timing of this community consultation will be confirmed by the Minister of Education in the coming weeks. This community consultation will be undertaken by an external facilitator.

The status of all diocesan Catholic integrated schools in the greater Christchurch area is as follows:

School	Туре	Status
Addington, Sacred Heart School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Aranui, St James School	Yr 1-6 Primary	Continues
Beckenham, St Peter's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Bryndwr, St Patrick's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Burnside, Christ the King School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Christchurch, St Mary's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Dallington, St Paul's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Combine with Our Lady of Fatima on the Mairehau site
Hoon Hay, Our Lady of the Assumption School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Hornby, St Bernadette's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Kaiapoi, St Patrick's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Mairehau, Our Lady of Fatima School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Combine with St Paul's on the Mairehau site
New Brighton, New Brighton Catholic School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Papanui, St Joseph's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Rangiora, St Joseph's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Riccarton, St Teresa's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Sockburn, Our Lady of Victories School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
St Albans, St Albans Catholic School	Yr 1-6 Primary	Continues
Sumner, Our Lady Star of the Sea School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Woolston, St Anne's School	Yr 1-8 Primary	Continues
Catholic Cathedral College	Yr 7-13 Secondary	Continues
Marian College (North Parade site)	Yr 9-13 Secondary	Geotechnical reassessment commencing in August 2013
Marian College (Barbadoes Street site)	Yr 9-13 Secondary	Continues (pending a geotechnical reassessment of the North Parade site)